Meet the Bargaining Committee!

On September 19th, students from across The New School elected our bargaining committee. These student workers will be representing our members in bargaining a strong first contract with the administration:

Katherine Fox (Lang, Independent Study)
Mithra Lehn (NSSR, Philosophy)
Lisa Lipscomb (NSSR, Sociology)
Mark Rafferty (NSSR, Economics)
Srishti Yadav (NSSR, Economics)
Daniel Younessi (NSSR, Economics)

Thanks again to everyone who came out to vote!

Join us at this semester’s first membership meeting to discuss how bargaining is going so far, next steps, and how to get more involved in winning a strong contract for student workers.

Details for the meeting here.

Huge news! By an overwhelming majority of 99.6% (502 yes, to 2 no), we voted YES for SENS-UAW! Congratulations to all of us on winning this fight. We look forward to bringing this momentum and support to the bargaining table and negotiating a strong contract for student workers at the New School!




Hundreds of student academic workers came out to vote on May 3rd and 4th. We know that an overwhelming majority of us have voted YES for SENS-UAW.  Until the board rejects the university’s baseless legal challenges, our ballots remain locked away, uncounted. As soon as the polls closed, SENS supporters and allies gathered in the University Center and marched to President Van Zandt’s office to demand that he free our votes and count our ballots. We will not stop until our ballots are counted and our union is recognized!