

December 22<sup>nd</sup> 2016

Dear President Van Zandt,

Last spring, a super-majority of graduate employees at The New School signed an open letter demanding that the administration agree to a free and fair vote to verify majority support for unionization, and requesting that you recognize and bargain with SENS-UAW as our union after the vote. Despite a decisive ruling from the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) affirming union rights for students at private universities across the country, the New School administration has ignored our choice to unionize, and disregarded the consistent support for SENS-UAW that we have demonstrated since late 2014.

November's elections make clear that we cannot afford to wait for the NLRB. We face an incoming federal government that is hostile to unions and will do what it can to undermine them. Will you discard The New School's brave and progressive history to collude with the Trump administration? Or will you recognize our union and join working students in collective bargaining so that we may devote our energy to strengthening this institution to which we are so committed?

We the undersigned, representing student workers across The New School, write to inform you that we will wait no longer. If you continue to ignore our democratic choice, we will hold a strike authorization vote and, if the vote passes and it is still necessary, go on strike. We urge you to demonstrate that The New School is committed to justice and equality by voluntarily recognizing our union and joining us at the bargaining table.

We anticipate your reply by Monday, January 9, 2017, indicating whether we may proceed with a union election granted through your voluntary recognition of SENS-UAW. Should you choose to remain silent in response to our request, we will proceed toward a strike authorization vote.

Noah Allison, Milano Tania Aparicio, Sociology Ritsarnt Avramidis, Economics Andres Bernal, Milano Zoe Carey, Sociology Orion Valles Codina, Economics Valentina Sarmiento Cruz, Liberal Studies Katyayani Dalmia, Anthropology Fattori Fraser, ADHT/Parsons Clayton Hartmann, Psychology Raven Hetzler, Economics Baki Guney Isikara, Economics Louis Jargow, Politics Martha Susana Jaimes, Milano Sidra Kamran, Sociology Stephania Lato, Historical Studies Zachary Leamy, Sociology Xia Li, Milano Mammotsa Makhene, Milano Andrew Marpillero-Colomina, Milano Lena Simet, Milano Eli Nadeau, Politics Aaron Newman, Liberal Studies Oliver Picek, Economics Cagla Orpen, Historical Studies Amy Osika, Anthropology Leticia Oxley, ADHT/Parsons Jerusalem Parsons, Philosophy Amir Sadeghi, Economics Rebecca Scheer, Milano Ibrahim Shikaki, Economics Monies Silva, Milano Angelica Stathapolous, Philosophy Alexios Tsigkas, Anthropology Zeno Ustun, Sociology James Wheeler, Philosophy